BNE – The Event – Review

9 09 2014

What a remarkable night, celebrating 35 years of Brisbane independent electronic music and the launch of the BNE Book and Music Archive. Click here to read our review of the event. Thanks to DJ Jen-E, The Megamen, Vision Four 5, Soma Rasa, and Boxcar, and all the BNE contributors for helping to make it happen, and all those who came, saw, danced, and enjoyed!

BNE – Jen-E’s Megamix

19 08 2014

Preview / download a (very small) selection of the massive BNE set list, courtesy Brisbane DJ Jen-E’s 30 minute megamix.

The BNE book is on presale now, as are the tickets for the launch event. Both are strictly limited in number, so get in early.

Click the BNE Project menu item above.

20 Years Ago Today: Evidence

2 04 2014

It was 20 years ago to the day that TransCom launched with the Evidence CD, and our first event at ZanZiBar in Brisbane city. It was a very exciting time (to be followed by many more).

For a trip down memory lane – take a look at our first Newsletter from 1994 which came out just after the launch, and contains a review of the night, as well all manner of grand plans, discussions of this new thing called the ‘Web, and pictures of people in their early 20’s ;-)

Here is footage of The UN’s live set on the night.

Evidence is still available on iTunes.

And of course our massive 2014 BNE Project is part of the context of celebrating this milestone.

Its been a terrific time for Anna and I, and we look forward to continuing… Thanks to all who have been a part of the journey.

Dennis R


13 05 2013

We welcome Sirs Bagley and Nolan to Soundcloud, and we like them a lot :-) – and so should you.

Busy times at Studio Norad eh Andy?


Demo Tape Heaven Part 1

8 04 2013

Researching our upcoming BNE project, we’ve been unearthing some gold from the cassette box.

Spot anything familiar ?

More to come…


Upcoming Releases

8 01 2013

Happy New Year!

We have two new releases in the final stages of production – read on!

Projekt Inertia – We Believe In Now (Special Aus/NZ Edition)

This album will blow you away. We’ve been releasing EPs and singles from our Perth-based mates for several years, and we’re proud to finally make available their debut album (i.e as Projekt Inertia).

The album was digitally released overseas by the Stripped label last year, but Trans:Com has produced unique editions of the album for Aus/NZ – including a 3-disc (2 CD + 1 DVD) physical release, and a double album iTunes release.

Both editions feature exclusive tracks, rare b-sides, and a selection of fine remixes. The DVD includes all of the band’s recent video clips.

The 3-disc release will be sold only through the TransCom website, and is the only physical edition of the album available worldwide.

Available: 21 January 2013 (iTunes Presale from 14 January)

Full tracklisting:

Album / Disc 1
Fall Away Like Rain
Bangkok (Unity Mix)
We Believe In Now
Underneath Us
Breaking The Silence
Feel You By My Side
Together As One
Lean It On
Someone Like You
Love For The Masses

Bonus / Disc 2
Runaway Runaway
Bangkok (Ian O’Donovan Vox Mix)
Lemonade (Cyan Vow’s Twisted Lemon Remix)
Fall Away Like Rain (Ilya Hype Deep Re-edit)
Someone Like You (Victor Xray Mix)
Shine Like A Star (Tenth Planet Mix)
Diet Lemonade
Autumn Flower
All I Want Is You

DVD / Disc 3
Fall Away Like Rain
Bangkok (Ian O’Donovan Dub Mix)

The Isle – Moment EP

Following up from their La Femme’ single released last year (and far earlier than the suggested 2026 timeframe!) The Isle have finally completed their 4-track EP ” Moment” which will be available on iTunes from 21 January 2013 (presale from 14 January).


La Femme Exotique

As always you can listen-in via our SoundCloud page at

RELEASE: Blood Party – Rock ‘n’ Roll Psychology (Redux)

17 09 2012

Released 1st October from Transmission Communications via iTunes Aus/NZ and a very limited edition deluxe CD pack.

Trans:Com is re-releasing one of its most treasured things; the long deleted, previously only released on cassette, and debut/final album from Brisbane’s brilliant Blood PartyRock n Roll Psychology – with bonus tracks from Trans:Com compilations and promos, and even some very early but very wonderful demos.

Who were the Blood Party, and why were they such a critical stitch in the fabric of Brisbane electronic / alternative music? Allow us to paraphrase another of our excellent peers; Ostia’s own Amps

“The impact, diversity and importance of the alternative music movement that simmered in Queensland’s capital from the late 80’s to the mid-90’s cannot be under-estimated. I was captivated by The Blood Party’s live performance; and particularly by their enigmatic singer, Julie Kavanagh. Julie delivered an intense performance, whilst the band pumped out an exhilarating mix of pop hooks and danceable beats that set them light-years apart from the guitar-based bands that, whilst often brilliant, dominated the scene at the time. But… The Blood Party had us all fooled…

The elegant synths, memorable melodies and effervescent beats belied something darker and more visceral. Julie’s lyrical exertions were often akin to catharsis; an exorcism of discomfort and assorted hurts, and whilst her fraught and fractured lyrics took a backseat in the band’s more instrumental works (try “Mud Pool Goddess” for starters), beneath the upbeat lustre of the melodies, there still lurked something more primal… a clarion call to stifled feminism, freedom and liberty.”

Beautifully remastered by Andy Bagley from original recordings by James Clark, the new digital rerelease features the original 7-track album, 3 rare compilation tracks, and the band’s original demo recordings. An exclusive numbered run of 100 deluxe CD editions will be for sale only through the Trans:Com website, specially packaged with a 20-page booklet featuring photography by Kylie Crane.

This re-release is a joy for us, and its been too long in coming. The 90’s was a time of great origination in Brisbane, when our electronic music culture grew from nothing, and these recordings from Blood Party are an absolutely essential part of that story.

Preview it and pre-order it now at iTunes. The exclusive numbered CD edition is available directly from us through our website.

COMING SOON: Projekt Inertia – We Believe In Now (deluxe edition album), and more…

(c) 2012 Transmission Communications – Contact us for additional media resources and promos


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.